Photo: Multi Housing

ASHRAE Standards:

ASHRAE Standards


The American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE) develops ANSI standards that are updated every three years. However, some standards are on continuous maintenance, meaning that these standards are updated continuously through addenda to the existing standard.

ASHRAE 90.1 and 189.1 standards can be adopted independently, but in most cases are adopted as an inclusion in the ICC energy codes. ASHRAE 90.2 has never been adopted by any local jurisdiction.

Participation in the development process and distribution of committee correspondence is limited to committee and subcommittee members with participation by others at the discretion of the chair.

NMHC/NAA track and participate in the development of the following ASHRAE standards:

  • ASHRAE Standard 90.1  Energy Efficient Design of New Buildings Except Low-Rise Residential Buildings

  • ASHRAE Standard 90.2  Energy Efficient Design of Low-Rise Residential Buildings

  • ASHRAE Standard 189.1  Standard for the Design of High-Performance Green Buildings except Low-Rise Residential Buildings 

ASHRAE Standards and Development Timelines

  • ASHRAE 90.1
    The 2010 version is being updated on a continuous maintenance cycle with addendum updates as necessary. The next version will be published in 2013.

  • ASHRAE 90.2
    The 2007 edition was scheduled for updated publication in 2010. However, continuing committee work has delayed publication until 2013.

  • ASHRAE 189.1. 
    Updating the current 2011 version has not yet begun.

NMHC/NAA ASHRAE Committee Appointments

  • ASHRAE Standard 90.1 
  • ASHRAE Standard 90.2 
  • ASHRAE Standard 189.1 

NMHC Building Codes & Standards Primer

  • Learn how the model codes and standards are developed and how apartment firms can participate in the process. HTML PDF

  • Detailed information on the timeline for updating the model codes and standards. HTML PDF